Social networks have provided facilities for the page of deceased users to protect the personal information of deceased people and prevent the possibility of unauthorized access to their page or the possible abuse of people as administrators or security officials.
Facebook allows users to decide in advance what their page will look like after death. Users can choose between two options: Permanent Delete or Memory Mode. On the memorial page, another user, inherited from friends and family, has the option to add just one post, possibly a funeral or memorial service, change the user’s photo, and Respond to friend requests. Once the page is remembered, it is no longer possible to modify or delete previous posts.
On Instagram, it is possible for the accounts of deceased people to be commemorated and still be accessible and visible to the audience. This will be possible at the request of users by providing documents such as the link of the news of the death or the ceremony or at the request of the family of the deceased. Another option is to clear the page. For those first-degree relatives, they must send documents such as a death certificate to Instagram.
Instagram does not give notifications when their page becomes a memorial to avoid upsetting or shocking the deceased’s friends.
On Twitter, no one can access the deceased person’s account after death, and their relatives can request Twitter to deactivate the account.